Thursday, January 28, 2016

Dance Gavin Dance - Downtown Battle Mountain (2007)

Genre: Post-Hardcore / Screamo
Website: Facebook
For Fans Of: All of their contemporaries are pretty wack
Track List:
- Untitled
- And I Told Them I Invented Times New Roman
- It's Safe To Say You Dig The Backseat
- Strawberry Andre
- Lemon Meringue Tie
- Antlion
- Turn Off The Lights I'm Watching Back To The Future
- The Backwards Pumpkin Song
- Open Your Eyes And Look North
- Surprise! I'm from Cuba, Everyone has One Brain
- 12 Hours, 630 Miles

I honestly don't give a shit if you think these guys are corny, this is one of the greatest albums I have ever heard.  Listening to Downtown Battle Mountain isn't even a guilty pleasure for me, but if I happen to stumble onto some of their later work then I have no excuse for my poor taste in music and I might apologize.  This album has the greatest blend of Post-Hardcore, Screamo, and Emo all in one.  You get the noodley guitar riffs with a sort of Math Rock vibe to it in spots, then it transitions into the chilling undertones of the bass accompanied by the eerie vocals performed by Jonny Craig.  So I posted this up because it's constantly in rotation for me, and maybe some of you guys will dig it too if you somehow haven't listened to it in it's entirety.

Download Now

No comments:

Post a Comment