Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Alcoa - Parlour Tricks (2015)

Genre: Acoustic / Folk / Indie
Website: Bandcamp
For Fans Of: Chuck Ragan, Owen, Rocky Votolato
Track List:
- Old Habits
- All Dolled Up
- Codebreaker
- It Won't Get Better
- Always Chasing Me
- Come & Go
- Poison Acquaintance
- 13 Years Bad Luck
- For Holden
- Rations
- Famous Last Words

Singer / Songwriter Derek Archambault, who you may know from Defeater, has potentially the greatest acoustic album I've heard in the last 10 years in 2015's "Parlour Tricks".  You may remember listening to a song called "I Don't Mind" on Defeater's album "Empty Days & Sleepless Nights" and thinking 'Wow, what a change of pace for this band, but I fucking love it'.  Well, if you're like me when you found out the guy who sang it decided to create an acoustic group you were ecstatic.  (He even did an acoustic version of "I Don't Mind" on the previous EP).  Anyway, I think most people are quite familiar with Alcoa by now, but if you haven't heard "Parlour Tricks" yet, I would highly recommend that you give it a listen.

Download Now

No comments:

Post a Comment